Weekly Blog (May 18 – May 23, 2008)

May 22, 2008 at 10:53 pm | Posted in Weekly Blog | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,

It’s been a hell of a long time since I’ve posted here. It’s mostly because of laziness, but some personal, social, school, etc problems have demotivated me to write whatsoever. And yes, I’m aware that demotivated is not a word.

The Death of Julius Caesar

Owned!

Ancient Romans, Guitar Heroes, Iron Men, and “driving all through the night” after the break.

The Tragedy of Julius Caesar

I like plays. I usually go to any one I can go to (if it’s free or less than my $10 budget for the creative arts or anything else that’s good for me). Of course, how can one truly enjoy the fine art of playwriting and acting if he or she cannot enjoy the works of the great William Shakespeare? I firmly believed that I could have.

That damn Renaissance bastard.

Though it was a school thing and I never had a thing for old English, I frankly enjoyed it. The story of Julius Caesar is set during the late era of the Roman Empire, where Julius Caesar is coming into power. The story revolves around a conflicted friend of Caesar, Brutus, who realizes that if Caesar comes to power, Rome is doomed to crumble. Torn between his love for his friend and his duty to protect Rome, the senator Cassius, who wants the throne for himself, sees Brutus as a perfect candidate to manipulate into carrying out his conspiracy and plan to overthrow Caesar.

Soon enough, the plot to kill Caesar is pushed into motion. However, Caesar’s loyal follower and bodyguard Mark Antony has an independent strength that the conspirators underestimated, and he will soon show his true colors when his master, thought to be his source of power, is taken out of the picture.

This story is simply not what I would expect from a Renaissance play. The drama and plot is just stunning and surprised me. Caesar’s last words (‘Et tu, Brute`?’, or “And you too, Brutus?”) gave off such an effect, and I couldn’t help but feel bad for the emperor. Lots of betrayal, trust, loyalty, friendship, love, politics, and even a little epic battle thrown in towards the end made me instantly intrigued by ancient Rome.

And yes, the basic story is true. Only a few tiny details were thrown in to fictionalize it, but the important parts were 99.9% factual.

This play has a lot of things to offer. Drama, comedy, tragedy, internal conflict, Jesus… well, maybe not Jesus, but he comes only about 40 years later historically.

And now, for school, I have to memorize an entire soliloquy (longass speech) by Mark Antony, who speaks at Caesar’s funeral and manages to turn the entire empire against Brutus and Cassius in revenge. I have to write it down tomorrow as a quiz, and I have to recite it next week.

“Friends, Romans, countrymen, lend me your ears. I have come to bury Caesar, not to praise him. The evil that men do lives with them; The good is oft interred with their bones. So let it be with Caesar. The noble Brutus hath told you that Caesar was ambitious. If it were so, then it is a grievous fault, and grievously hath Caesar answered it. Here, under leave of Brutus and the rest – So Brutus was an honorable man. So are they all, all honorable men. – Come I to speak at Caesar’s funeral. He was my friend, faithful and just to me. But Brutus says he was ambitious. And Brutus is an honorable man.

He hath brought home many captives to Rome. Whose ransoms did the general coffers fill? Did this in Caesar seem ambitious? When that the poor have cried, Caesar hath wept. Ambitious should be made of sterner stuff. Yet Brutus says he was ambitious. And Brutus is an honorable man. You all did see that on the Lupercal. I thrice presented him a kingly crown, which he did thrice refuse. Was this ambition?

Yet Brutus says he was ambitious. And, sure, he is an honorable man. I speak not to disprove what Brutus spoke, but here I am to speak of what I do know. You all did love him once, not without cause. What cause withholds you from then to mourn for him?

O judgment! Thou art fled to brutish beasts. And men have lost their reason. Bear with me, my heart is in the coffin there with Caesar, and I must pause till it come back to me.”

-Mark Antony (From The Tragedy of Julius Caesar by Shakespeare)

Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock

Guitar Hero III logo

Recently, I got Guitar Hero 3 for my Xbox 360. I have to say, it’s as fun as I expected. I would’ve liked more songs I’m familiar with though, but hey, what can I complain about? The game runs smoothly and it’s fun and replayable for hours upon hours of total gameplay.

My favorite song is probably Welcome to the Jungle. I liked the song before, and the speed is right up my alley. I like playing the Halo Theme Mjolnir Mix (only downloadable through Xbox Live). If you’ve read my posts up to now, I’m a fan of Halo, which makes it pretty fun to do.

I haven’t tried multiplayer yet though, but then again I only play on Normal difficulty. Maybe if I get better and start playing Hard or a little Expert, I’ll jump right in, but I feel too unprepared for it. Plus, I’m back to Halo now to finish some… well… unfinished business.

Iron Man

It’s a Gundam!

Can you say best super hero movie ever? Well, that’s how good I found it to be. I’m probably exaggerating, but it was simply awesome. That’s coming from a mecha action fan. Not really much to back my interest and praise up, really. I mean, that 90+% on Rotten Tomatoes means nothing whatsoever, right?

I would definitely recommend anybody to see it if ever given the chance. It really gave me renewed hope for the superhero genre, seeing as I didn’t like Spiderman 3 or Batman Begins all too much.

Anyway, to the story, it’s about a world famous weapon’s manufacturer who is taken hostage by terrorists, and realizes that they’ve somehow gotten a hold of some of his products. They force him to create a missile he demonstrated earlier in the movie, but instead he creates a behemoth of a steel suit that completely makes him all powerful. With it, he escapes his captivity, and develops a more refined suit at home, shuts down his weapons market, and parades around the Middle East blowing up terrorists to kingdom come with his cool little palm cannon thingy.

Again, I definitely recommend this movie. It combines cool action, with nerdy techy nerdy stuff, with comedy anybody can laugh to.

Bat Country?

MREERRRR!!!

No, I’m not writing an article on Avenged Sevenfold’s most famous song. I’m writing about a little escapade I had in Vegas a while ago.

I woke up at around 6 am to the sound of my parents’ voices as they abruptly kidnapped me and threw me into the car one fine Saturday morning. In retaliation, I popped in CDs and put up the volume so loud the car shook. Just so happens that while we’re driving through the desert, Bat Country by Avenged Sevenfold starts playing. If you’ve ever seen the music video, you’ll understand how cool this must’ve been for me, especially knowing how much of an A7x fan I am.

Anyway, the trip was okay. We stayed at the Luxor and I watched Saving Private Ryan in the hotel room. Oh, Tom Hanks, why must you be so easily bitched around by the U.S. government?

The morning after, we left. So I can’t complain much. It was just boring, hot, and quite uneventful to say the least.

Instrument Obsession

MREERRRR!!!

Not sure if I’ve ever mentioned it here (and I’m far too lazy to check), but I’ve been trying to learn to play the piano. I’m not going by the book, I’m just learning songs I want to learn, because come on. Who wants to hear about Mary’s f*cking lamb anyway?

Well, I might be taking an alternate route. I’ve kindled an interest in guitars (and it’s not because of Guitar Hero… Well, yeah it is, but that’s not the point), and I might be learning how to play this summer. I’m also pretty interested in the drums and the bass guitar, but my priorities are the piano and the acoustic or electric guitar.

If I ever play a song well and put it on YouTube, I’ll be sure to post it here for all you 2 or 3 readers to comment on how much I suck at playing Bat Country on acoustic.

Last Words

Well, that’s all I have to say. Plus, I’m too lazy and stressed out to think of more. Maybe next week you’ll get like a billion pages worth of things in my life you really don’t want to know about. Who knows?

143 pplz. (lol I have a bandaid that people apparently wanted to treat like a cast. I have 143 written on it and now I feel like being a gay nerd and saying it to everybody)

-Chris

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

