Discovering Magibon…

May 18, 2008 at 9:21 pm | Posted in Random | 14 Comments

I was aimlessly wandering around YouTube when I “finally” stumbled upon apparent internet sensation, “Magibon.” I was clicking around the “Related Videos” section and finally decided to go back to the homepage when I found the image of a little girl staring at me at the bottom of the page under “Most Active Videos.”

I mean look at her… she is fairly cute. I was kind of surprised… a 14 or 15 year old getting these many hits along with a bunch of comments from guys saying “ZOMG I WUD SO FUKK HER!! SHES SO CUTE!” Poor girl…

Or so I thought…

First off, let me get a couple of facts straight. She is actually 21 or so. I was pleasantly surprised by this. She surely doesn’t look 21 years old… I know it’s probably genetic or something but if she uses some strange anti-aging cream it sure is working. TheHill88 made a good point in her video How to Create a Magibon about her age and her sudden spike in popularity.

Caitlin, the er… video maker (?????), says that “You take a girl who looks like she’s age 12 to 16 when she’s actually in her 20s so the guys don’t feel bad about watching her… So they don’t feel like a pedophile.” While I’m quite sure that that isn’t the reason why many guys watch Magibon’s videos, it sure seems like a clever deduction.

Mmkay… so why exactly am I so shocked at Magibon’s (or her YT username, MRirian) sudden fame? I think it’s because in quite a number of videos she’s either a) doing NOTHING or b) speaking Japanese whilst acting like one.

What I mean by “NOTHING” is quite self explanatory. In her so called “nothingness series” (or so I’ve heard it called), she simply sits there staring at her webcam. Occasionally she would come closer to the camera so that you get an extreme close up of her face (mainly her eyes.) Here‘s her latest creation.

As for her speaking Japanese, here‘s a vid of her welcoming the New Year in Japanese (with some English thrown in.)

I hear the whole reason that she speaks Japanese is because she has some kind of love for Japan. She really really wanted to go there – perhaps the motive behind creating all these vids, promoting her cuteness, and hoping that somebody will ship her off to the land of the rising sun. ((Apparently it worked but I’ll get into that later~))

She doesn’t really do anything but show off her weird antics by either (as I said earlier) doing nothing or speaking Japanese in a high-pitched voice, nodding her head like the Japanese do (I’m not sure if other ethnicities do this as well), and showing off her 20-year old cuteness… THAT is why I question how she was able to get so many hits. <__<; The main thing going for her, I know, is her cuteness. Some people even consider her doing nothing an art or some hidden message. An ART?! That’s quite… odd.

As I was trying to find out more about this girl (I was curious… not because I’m infatuated… seriously -__-;;) I stumbled upon an FAQ about her. Fans really are taking this obsession to the next level. However, this FAQ, while it was helpful, it was also biased.

These silent videos work like some paintings of modern art or a Rorschach inkblot test. An inkblot test shows nothing but an inkblot, but it is also a kind of mirror of the soul of the people who are watching it. So, if a person is interested in UFO-Stories he will probably see a spaceship in this inkblot, while another one is interested in geography and he can see the shape of an island or continent. People who have no creativity or intelligence can see nothing but an inkblot.
Exactly the same happens with Magis silent-videos. Intelligent and creative people can enjoy her videos because they find a lot of intelligence and creativity in them. Stupid people can see nothing but “a girl that stares into a camera”. This makes them angry and sometime turns them into Magi-haters because Magis videos remind them of their own lack of creativity and unability to understand demanding things.
Therefore stupid and uneducated people call her videos stupid and obscene people call her videos obscene while intelligent people really enjoy her videos

Woah… did they just call me stupid because I cannot see anything beyond a “girl that stares into a camera”?? I’m afraid her videos do NOT remind me of my own lack of creativity. I know I have a lack of creativity but do her videos remind me of it? No. I also don’t understand the “unability to understand demanding things.” If somebody could explain that to me, I’d really appreciate it. ^_^; All I can seem to gather from that is that she’s demanding something from us…. but okayyy……. (( If you ask me, I think she’s demanding a trip to Japan )) Also… just because I don’t “really enjoy her videos” I’m suddenly not intelligent? That’s pretty harsh…

Oh dear, I forgot to mention that she isn’t Asian despite her speaking Japanese. Not that this is a problem of course. I mean… I’d like to speak Japanese (although I am Asian so that kind of rules out my perception <<;) But seriously… There’s this other girl that speaks Japanese on YouTube, applemilk1988. I must say, she speaks Japanese very well (or at least from what I can see… although I’m truly no expert on the language) and yet she doesn’t try to do the whole “head-nodding” thing like Magibon does. For that reason, I respect applemilk1988 … or Emily as her name goes. :D Furthermore, Emily’s videos are more than just the “I’m sitting in my chair staring at the webcam either staring at the camera or speaking Japanese” as [most of] Magibon’s videos are.

Oh… I stumbled upon the creepiest Magibon fansite (?!) ever. Magibon.com Terribly horrifying if you ask me but extremely interesting. However, that apparently brought about rumors that MRirian is simply some girl that is helping to promote some film. While that is not true, it sure got a lot of people angry and disappointed. I read somewhere that she’s actually going to be in a movie in Japan or something. I’m not so sure if that’s true or not though.

Alright… moving on. One that that bothers me greatly are her nails. I mean… they are INCREDIBLY long. It’s kind of scary…

I’m honestly not a fan of long nails so those just creeped me out. I can’t type with long nails nor do they look nice (to me/on me) so I don’t like them at all. XD; Oh, and I can’t play the piano with long nails either. Dx Seriously Magi… CUT YOUR NAILS. Although I suppose some guys find a 14-year old looking girl with 20+ year old looking nails to be… sexy? I have no clue. Somebody give me some input please. (( Those pictures were taken from her blog. By the looks of her blog, she really knows how to write (type?) and speak Japanese. I just want to know if she has a Japanese keyboard or not… I’ve always wondered how those worked. ))

Now there truly are Magibon lovers. Take this blog for example… Just reading the entries truly amazes me. No it does not disgust me or make me sick… it’s just highly amusing.

We just reviewed the Nothingness 18 video and we liked it immediately! It’s mercurial, it’s sparky, it’s vibrant. There is movement, fun, activity. Magibon engages directly with the viewer, and you are instantly drawn into her world.

Is it the best yet? Too early to tell, but this new production is more accessible than some other more complex creations by the genius girl.

No I just found those words to be highly HIGHLY odd. These people truly like Magibon’s videos. Her best yet?! I am just truly amazed, amused, intrigued, etc. by all these Magibon lovers. I truly truly am.

Let’s go back a bit! Remember that girl that created that “How to Create a Magibon” video that I was talking about earlier. Well she has a blog post defining whether she is jealous or not – since apparently a lot of people started bashing at her. Clicketh here to read it~ Her whole point about Magi acting like an “idiot” I can completely understand. I think that is the exact reason why I can’t comprehend why there are so many Magibon lovers. I hear that guys usually fall for the girl that acts like an idiot or whatever… I’ve seen a girl do that once and she’s got guys all over her. I can tell by Magi’s knowledge of Japanese that she really is smart. But why does she have to act like an idiot? Does she not realize it or does she enjoy doing it? If she enjoys doing it… then she should already realize what she is doing. I’m certain a 21-year old is aware of how some men work in this world. She not only looks like a young teen, she’s acting like one. (( Then we can always go back to how she’s really an “artist” and those so-called “pointless” videos of hers are pure art. ))

I seriously did my research. Apparently she got a free trip to Japan from a TV Network there! I believe it is called “GYAO” — or that can just be the name of the show. They even made an effort to get in touch with her. [[ See the video?! ]] Erm… I read somewhere that she’s big star in Japan, or at least somewhat well known. I’m not so sure if this is true or not either though!

With her trip to Japan came a lot of hype from the people that either watch MRirian’s videos on YT or were simply interested to see the turnout. With that came some nice bashing as well. I kind of feel bad for her now. ^^;;; Take this video on YouTube for example. (( Clicketh )) I don’t quite understand the “big chin” that the person is trying to get us to see… but the teeth… I can clearly see….. wow. Her teeth aren’t that good. I mean… seriously. I’m quite certain though that her avid fans don’t care about that though. They’ll still love her nonetheless. (: But I mean… on her videos her teeth look perfectly fine. It’s all about angles my friend! This is exactly what this blog states. The author of that blog also states that Magi was getting donations from her fans on YouTube in order to get to Japan. However… she just got a free trip to Japan. I’d like to know what she’s going to do with that money.

Mmkay I think I’m done bashing at her for a bit. I know that this entry has got some people hating me now… but hey I’m simply speaking my mind here. I really don’t know why she has to act like a child when she speaks Japanese. I really really really don’t know what to say anymore either. XD; Because… if I knew how to speak Japanese… I’d probably act all childish like her.

But in all honesty, I think she’s slightly manipulating people. She’s using her cuteness to get people to love her. It’s not just her “innocence” as a bunch of people say. I’d like to know what that 21-year old kid has done to remain that innocent for well… 21 years. O_o; Somebody even made a nice little video about her innocence. (( Right here!! )) That seriously caught my attention. Look at the comments as well… people are so astounded by her. I remember reading one comment (not sure if it’s from that video) that her father even hates her. Is that what compelled her to act like this?

I appreciate her love for Japan and all that… but… there’s just seriously something about her that’s a mystery! ><; I don’t know what exactly… but something bothers me. I think that’s what made me type up all these 2,000+ words expressing my opinion about her.

Wait wait… another thing I wonder about her are her big eyes. They’re really nice and all but… are they really that big? O_O I’ve seen other pictures of her and her eyes don’t look that big. Is she just widening them like crazy or something? Dx AND ANOTHER THING… I wonder if any of her friends have seen her videos. I’d like to know what they think of her. <<;; I’d also like to know what she acts like when she’s not in front of the camera… like when she’s at work or school or whatever… I would also like to know if she’s in college or something. XD; Mmkay…

So let’s get a few things straight before I get this smoking hot laptop off of my darn lap (seriously, it’s already like 90ºF in here and now I’ve got this extremely hot laptop on my lap. (( My laptop is gonna overheat one day… )) I know I could just put this laptop onto a desk or something but from where I’m sitting, doing that would make me stoop. That’s a bad habit of mine so I’d really like to stop. XP I should move you say? Well… this is the coldest room in the house (no air conditioning T_T … my mom doesn’t want to “waste” electricity). I’m drinking a nice glass of cold milk though! :D

Oh wait… the things that we have to get straight:

1) I do NOT hate Magibon. She’s just… a little too eccentric for me.

2) I do appreciate some of her videos. The one that I really liked was the one about Kikkoman Soy Sauce. (( HERE :D ))

3) Would all you guys still watch her if she weren’t that cute?

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i want to see your real long nail..give me more foto or picture your long nail..please sent your nail photo to my mail.
    tq.

  2. hmmm… very nice website about magibon…
    although i kind of hate her because i think that she is just some attention graber. She makes me worry about her coz yea ur right, she looks 14 or watever that makes guys wanna rape her but i cant blame her cutness.. yes… but hello??
    maybe she’s nice in real life but her getting famous just 4 staring @ da goddamn camera 4 seconds is just so pathetic.. this is my opinion so yea… many ppl think different way about her since this is the way i think… lets leave it like that.. thats all im gonna say.

  3. hello my name is jhason,
    hola me llamo jhason soy de venezuela quiero conocerte para traducir lo que te digo aslo por google (-.-)life in venezuela like an friendly with you my msn is jhason_14@hotmail.com

  4. Magibon needs to get over herself and stop posting videos as though she’s a Japanese person. She’s using a stereotype to get people’s attention. I want her to stop seeing her online altogether.

  5. Why are you so pride to your pathetic nails, babe??? The net is full with your trash.

  6. MRirian vc msn Messenger Obrigado eu ir casa meninas!!

  7. I don’t understand how she suddenly was spotted on the internet and then shipped off over to Japan. I don’t get iiiit.

  8. I believe it’s because she became somewhat of a “star” in Japan. (: I’m not 100% sure though buuut… That’s what I’ve gathered.

  9. lol. I understand where your going with this. I also came across a video of this girl who did absolutely nothing and when she talked it was in a slow monotone voice. >_>; It was painful to listen to. Oh but then she would suddenly make a movement and show her armpit hairs..? O.O It was quite strange and she was Japanese, also she was like the eighth most person subscribed to in Japan. I didn’t get it but oh well. Good blog though ^^

  10. Well, I read your opinion and the one linked (FAQ). The two had good points. I don’t think you are stupid or something like that just for not watching anything interesting on Magi’s Nothingness videos. I just think that you are not used to do things like Magi does. You are on your side (and people who think about Magi like you), and Magi is on her side (and her fans too). Your mind is closed only for seeing your ponit of view. (And Magi’s extreme fan’s too). Please open your mind, and understand that you may feel things that nobody could, and vice-versa. That’s all; No big deal here. (And don’t blame her just for her cute-teenager appearance, she likes to be that way!)

  11. why does she pretend to be japanese, when she isn’t? fair enough learning the language etc, but she actually tries to be a japanese person.

  12. 1. Her Teeth i mean WTF are exactly so wrong with them? NOTHING
    2. WAPANESE what the fuck is wrong with that? So she wants to be a different culture. If the Japanese were SO offended THAY’D’VE SUED HER OR SOMETHING!
    3. PEDOPHILES? SHE’S 23 GODDAMMIT AND WHAT THE FUCK IS WRONG WITH A MAN 30 PLUS LOOKING AT A 20 SOMETHING AND IF YOU GIOVE ME SOME KINDA “:THIS AND THAT” BULLSHIT ANSWER I SWEAR TO GOD!!! I WILL FUCKING
    4. Her long, nails, chin, ears etc THAT MAKE HER LOOK HER OWN ACTUAL AGE

    5 SHE IS NOT ASHAMED OF HER OWN RACE

    SO LET ME ASK AGAIN WHY ALL THE FUCKING HATE? AND WHY I HAT THE HATERS AND LOVE MAGIBON
    1. MAGIBON IS CUTE (fucked up teeth included AND WHAT THE FUCK IS YOUR FUCKING PROBLEM WITH THAT?)
    2. She represent the kinda girl A MAN REALLY NEEDS! NOT YOU! THE STUCK UP BITCH WHO TURNS HIM DOWN!
    3. She loves Japanese culture SHE IS NOT MOCKING IT OR DEGRADING DO YOU FUCKING UNDERSTAND
    4. WHAT THE FUCK IS WRONG WITH ME BEING OBSESSED WITH HER
    5. HOPEFULLY I’LL BEAT SOME SENSE INTO YOU HATERS!

    thank you sincerly an uber obsessed fan WHO’S NOT A FUCKING STALKER
    SO WHO’S STEROTYPING WHO, HUH

    • amen to that shit GC MAGIBON IS FUCKING CRAZY HOT WHO GIVES A FUCK HOW FUCKED UP HER TEETH ARE GODAMMN SHED FEEL GOOD ON OUR COCKS

  13. No way that girl is older than 12… If she’s 9 it’s too much. She is so beautiful (and I don’t think her teeth are that ugly people usually say…) and has very interesting boobs though. Don’t know if you people know, but in Japanese and Asian culture in general, what we call paedophilia here it’s only a kind of fetish considered as normal.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

